What type of world are we living in where we tell kids that you might face jail time if you go Trick or Treating?!? Apparently this one … Thankfully this isn’t in Michigan, but if you’re 13 years of age or older living in Chesapeake Virginia you might want to think twice about going out for those delicious treats.
The town has an ordnance that reads “If any person over the age of 12 years shall engage in the activity commonly known as ‘trick or treat’ or any other activity of similar character or nature under any name whatsoever, he or she shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than $25.00 nor more than $100.00 or by confinement in jail for not more than six months or both.”
Check out the full ordnance right here!
Isn’t this just the saddest of news … I guess if you’re a 13 year old you have to ask yourself … ‘Is the juice worth the squeeze?’