The Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association on Wednesday announced it would drop its vehicle assessment fees to from $220 to $100 starting in July 2020, citing sweeping changes to the state’s auto no-fault policies signed into law this year as the cause.
This is great news for Michigan drivers considering the fact that last year, the MCCA increased its fees from $192 to $220 per vehicle, marking the record for the highest-ever fee.
For the period beginning July 2, 2020 through June 30, 2021, that fee will now be decreased to $100, a 55 percent decrease.
The fee will only be charged to people who opt to continue unlimited personal injury protection, or PIP, coverage as long as the MCCA isn’t in deficit under the new law changing Michigan’s no-fault auto insurance system.
I know I’m not the only one who sees plenty of cars on the road with out of state license plates. Most people probably register their vehicle in another state where they have another address to avoid the ridiculous Michigan rates.
Hey, it may not be much but I’ll take it!