LOS ANGELES, CA - AUGUST 18: JhenŽ Aiko performs during the All My Friends Music Festival on August 18, 2018 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Christopher Polk/Getty Images)

Jhene Aiko has revealed the tracklist for her third studio album Chilombo. On Wednesday night (Feb. 26), Aiko took to Instagram to share the tracklist, which features some of hip-hop and R&B’s heavyweights.

Aiko’s boyfriend, Big Sean (yes, they’re back together) appears on her single “None of Your Concern,” while Chilombo also includes appearances from  H.E.R., John Legend, Ab-Soul, Ty Dolla $ign, Aiko’s father, Dr. Chill, Future, Miguel, and Nas.

my 3rd album "Chilombo" available everywhere March 6th ????????????

273k Likes, 2,698 Comments - Jhené Aiko Efuru Chilombo ???? (@jheneaiko) on Instagram: "my 3rd album "Chilombo" available everywhere March 6th ????????????"

In addition to sharing the tracklist for Chilombo, Aiko also revealed what the album title means, which is also her given last name.  Chilombo is “a name Jhené’s father chose for himself as a young adult, proclaims the artist’s full name, Jhené Aiko Efuru Chilombo,” Aiko wrote on Instagram.

The “Sativa” singer also revealed that she has been studying the practice of sound healing and with Chilbombo, she has incorporated crystal alchemy singing bowls on every track. “This form of sound healing has been found to be both physically and mentally healing on the cellular level,” Aiko wrote.

Aiko also describes Chilombo as a “time-lapse of an unassuming volcano erupting gracefully with its lava flowing freely… settling and creating new land and new life.” It also “celebrates her coming into her own personal power.” The album is comprised of freestyles that Aiko recorded in Hawaii where Jhené’s great grandmother was born.

“I make music for healing purposes, for myself,” Jhené told Essence. “It’s like journaling or when people paint. It’s sort of an escape. It’s turning pain or frustration into something; into art. Sharing it is also therapeutic because when people express to you that they are relating to it, you’re like, ‘Oh, I’m not alone in what I’m going through.’”


March 6th ✨ #CHILOMBO ????

240.2k Likes, 6,609 Comments - Jhené Aiko Efuru Chilombo ???? (@jheneaiko) on Instagram: "March 6th ✨ #CHILOMBO ????"

Chilombo will be available on March 6. See the tracklist below.

1. “Lotus (Intro)”
2. “Triggered (Freestyle)”
3. “None of Your Concern” feat. Big Sean
4. “Speak”
5. “B.S.” feat. H.E.R.
6.”P*$$Y Fairy (OTW)”
7. “Happiness Over Everything (H.O.E.)” feat. Future and Miguel
8. “One Way St.” feat. Ab-Soul
9. “Define Me (Interlude)”
10. “Surrender” feat. Dr. Chill
11. “Tryna Smoke”
12. “Born Tired”
13. “LOVE”
14. “10K Hours” feat. Nas
15. “Summer 2020 (Interlude)”
16. “Morning Doves”
17. “Pray For You”
18. “Lightning & Thunder” feat. John Legend
19. “Magic Hour”
20. “Party for Me” feat. Ty Dolla $ign

Glennisha Morgan is a Detroit-bred multimedia journalist and writer. She writes about intersectionality, hip-hop, pop culture, queer issues, race, feminism, and her truth. Follow her on Twitter @GlennishaMorgan.

Sign me up for the 105.1 the Bounce email newsletter!

Stay locked in with everything 105.1 the BOUNCE and become a BOUNCE VIP! VIP members can win prizes, concert tickets & get updates on everything Detroit!

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.