As promised, Jhene Aiko released her third studio album, Chilombo on Friday, March 6. The “Triggered” singer took to Instagram to announce the album’s release as well as talk about her journey creating the album.

“There were tears, there was fear, there were high tide kayak excursions… long talks about life, long nights on the mic, earthquakes summonsed by tarot card readings (lol) and nonstop, gut-wrenching laughter… we laid under the milky way, great debates w/ Noah, and devoured all of Kayla’s cooking,” Aiko wrote.

“We free-styled about whales and ancient aliens, praised God and took long drives to Hilo and South Point with long-winded Lathan (love you Lathan! lol) along the way, we lost friends… went through heartbreaks, break downs and broken bones… then we came back and jammed under the Puako sun well into the night… and put ourselves back together.”

“There were moments I felt I couldn’t go any further, sang through sorrow and swollen vocal chords, but said [expletive] it and kept going anyway… I am so proud of myself for getting it done by doing it my way,” Aiko continued.

one more time for the people in the back!! lol... my 3rd album #CHILOMBO ???? is out NOW on ALL platforms ???? (link in bio) ????????

282.5k Likes, 5,137 Comments - Jhené Aiko Efuru Chilombo ???? (@jheneaiko) on Instagram: "one more time for the people in the back!! lol... my 3rd album #CHILOMBO ???? is out NOW on ALL..."

“I am so honored to be surrounded by a team of family and friends who aren’t afraid to step back during my eruptions, who support and join me on all my adventures… who challenge me, who comfort and support me… and who give me my space, but never leave me alone long enough to self destruct. I love you and I love this journey… it has truly been the reward.”

Aiko went on to describe Chilombo as “not a perfect, linear story… but rather a REAL story… about love, loss, anger, forgiveness, sorrow, freedom and ALL the things life has to offer.”

The twenty track album features guest appearances by Big Sean, H.E.R., Miguel, Future, Ab-Soul, Aiko’s father Dr. Chill, Nas, John Legend, and Ty Dolla $ign. Chilombo begins with the album’s first two singles “Triggered (freestyle)” and “None of Your Concern” featuring Big Sean.

About mid-way through the album, Chilombo takes a turn for the brighter side with tracks about smoking cannabis to “keep the peace,” walking in “LOVE,” waiting for a miracle, and celebrating Aiko when she’s perished. Chilombo is the follow up to Aiko’s 2017 release Trip. It’s currently available on all platforms.

Chilombo Tracklist

1. “Lotus (Intro)”
2. “Triggered (Freestyle)”
3. “None of Your Concern” feat. Big Sean
4. “Speak”
5. “B.S.” feat. H.E.R.
6.”P*$$Y Fairy (OTW)”
7. “Happiness Over Everything (H.O.E.)” feat. Future and Miguel
8. “One Way St.” feat. Ab-Soul
9. “Define Me (Interlude)”
10. “Surrender” feat. Dr. Chill
11. “Tryna Smoke”
12. “Born Tired”
13. “LOVE”
14. “10K Hours” feat. Nas
15. “Summer 2020 (Interlude)”
16. “Morning Doves”
17. “Pray For You”
18. “Lightning & Thunder” feat. John Legend
19. “Magic Hour”
20. “Party for Me” feat. Ty Dolla $ign


Glennisha Morgan is a Detroit-bred multimedia journalist and writer. She writes about intersectionality, hip-hop, pop culture, queer issues, race, feminism, and her truth. Follow her on Twitter @GlennishaMorgan.

Sign me up for the 105.1 the Bounce email newsletter!

Stay locked in with everything 105.1 the BOUNCE and become a BOUNCE VIP! VIP members can win prizes, concert tickets & get updates on everything Detroit!

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.