The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has once again included hip-hop legends on its ballot. This year, A Tribe Called Quest is on the ballot – again – and Missy Elliott is on the ballot for the first time. This is her first year of eligibility. To be eligible for nomination, an individual artist or band must have released its first commercial recording at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination. Missy’s first album, Supa Dupa Fly, was released in 1997 (although she was a featured artist on other people’s singles prior to that).

Tribe’s first single as a lead artist was “Description Of A Fool” in 1989. They’ve been eligible since 2015 and were nominated for the first time last year. While they didn’t get voted in, Eminem did get enough votes.

Other hip-hop artists in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame include Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five, Run-D.M.C., the Beastie Boys, Public Enemy, N.W.A., Tupac Shakur, the Notorious B.I.G., Jay-Z, LL Cool J and Eminem. Missy Elliott is the first female hip-hop artist ever to be included on the ballot.

Nominee ballots will be sent to an international voting body of more than 1,000 artists, historians, and members of the music industry. An artist’s musical impact and influence on other artists, length and depth of career and body of work as well as innovation and superiority in style and technique are taken into consideration.

Fans around the world can participate in the Induction selection process through the “fan vote.” Through April 28, fans can vote online every day at or in person at the Museum in Cleveland. The top five artists selected by the public will comprise a “fans’ ballot” that will be tallied along with the other ballots to determine the 2023 Inductees.

Inductees will be announced in May. The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2023 Induction Ceremony will take place this fall with date, venue, and on-sale information to be announced. Other artists on the ballot include Kate Bush, Sheryl Crow, Iron Maiden, Joy Division/New Order, Cyndi Lauper, George Michael, Willie Nelson, Rage Against The Machine, Soundgarden, the Spinners, the White Stripes and Warren Zevon.

Missy Elliott Officially Becomes First Woman Rapper Inducted Into Songwriters Hall of Fame

Sign me up for the 105.1 the Bounce email newsletter!

Stay locked in with everything 105.1 the BOUNCE and become a BOUNCE VIP! VIP members can win prizes, concert tickets & get updates on everything Detroit!

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.