It’s officially a new year, and that brings plenty of hopes and resolutions for the coming 365 days. However, with a New Year comes new laws in Michigan, and depending on your job and record, these could impact you.
So, what are some Michigan laws going into effect on Jan. 1, 2023? There are two major ones.
The first is the increase in the minimum wage. In Michigan, the minimum wage is set to increase on Jan. 1, 2023, going from $9.87 an hour to $10.10 an hour. This change is taking place because back in 218, legislation was introduced to increase the minimum wage to $12 an hour by 2022, with tipped workers being paid at least 80% of the standard minimum wage. That legislation was adapted to raise the minimum wage to $12.05 an hour by 2030 with tipped workers getting 38% of the standard minimum wage. Moreover, the ruling was appealed, but the Court of Claims ordered the stay of it until February of 2023, so it could change again. For more information, go here.
The other law is automatic expungement of records. According to Michigan.gov, starting April 2023 (so not Jan. 1, but still this year), an automated system for expunging convictions will begin. So, residents who want to expunge their records won’t have to file an application. According to Michigan.gov, up to two felony convictions will be expunged the later of 10 years after sentencing or the person’s release from custody. Also, up to four misdemeanors will be expunged seven years after sentencing. Some conviction will not qualify for automatic expungement. For all the information, go here.